Tevin Campbell wants to record a song for South Africa

Written by Yazeed Kamaldien

American singer Tevin Campbell loves South Africa so much he is planning to record a song especially for the country.

Campbell landed in Cape Town this week and will perform in the city on Saturday night. He performs his best hits in Johannesburg on Sunday night and heads back to California next Tuesday.

American singer Tevin Campbell in Cape Town. Pic by Yazeed Kamaldien

American singer Tevin Campbell in Cape Town. Pic by Yazeed Kamaldien

“I did not expect this response,” he said of his reception.

“I’d like to record a song especially for South Africa. I have really devoted fans in this country and it’s been 20 years,” said Campbell.

He said he felt emotional about performing his biggest hits all recorded before he took a break from making music at age 22.

“I anticipate crying during the show. That will make me sing better. We’re just gonna rock the house,” he said.

Gene Shelton who has been his publicist since the singer started his career at 12 years old was with Campbell yesterday. Shelton worked with Michael Jackson, Lionel Richie, Stevie Wonder and other Motown singers.

Tevin Campbell with Gene Shelton who has been his publicist since the singer was 12 years old. Pic by Yazeed Kamaldien

Tevin Campbell with Gene Shelton who has been his publicist since the singer was 12 years old. Pic by Yazeed Kamaldien

He is currently a journalist professor at Kent State University in Ohio.

“I come out of the classroom for Tevin Campbell,” he said.

“We share the love of music. We are honest with each other. I’ve never had a relationship like this with any of the other artists I’ve worked with. Tevin was born in the same year as my son and I treat him like he’s my son.”

Campbell said he was currently working on a new album.

“I’m resurrecting my career and I have nothing to lose. It’s just important to tell my story my way. I’ll never stop singing,” he said.

Campbell will perform at the Grand Arena, GrandWest in Cape Town, on Saturday. He performs at Carnival City in Johannesburg on Sunday.

About Yazeed Kamaldien

Self-employed journalist and photographer from South Africa.

Leave a Reply

